How can I stop sending fast.log alerts via syslog?

Hey community, so I just started learning how to configure Suricata and syslog from scratch - that was quite a learning experience. I managed to reach a configuration template that is suitable for me. However, I’m getting both of eve.json alerts, and fast.log alerts, which is redundant. I want to stop sending the fast.log alerts, but I could not find ANY combination or setting change on the config file to stop sending them.

Here’s a photo to show what I mean

The lines that are marked in red are lines I don’t want to send to my QRadar anymore.

And this is my config file:
suricata.yml (72.8 KB)

Help would be highly appreciated. Thank you!

Change enabled: yes to enabled: no in your suricata.yaml file as shown below to disable fast.log writing.

outputs:
  # a line based alerts log similar to Snort's fast.log
  - fast:
      enabled: no
      filename: fast.log
      append: yes
      filetype: regular # 'regular', 'unix_stream' or 'unix_dgram'

Hey Jeff, thanks for the reply.

That was one of the first things I’ve tried. I can confirm indeed that the log is not being written anymore, but the alerts in the format of fast.log are STILL being sent via syslog. Is there any way to troubleshoot this?

Ok … then find this section

# a line based alerts log similar to fast.log into syslog
  - syslog:
      enabled: yes
      # reported identity to syslog. If omitted the program name (usually
      # suricata) will be used.
      identity: "suricata"
      facility: local5
      #level: Info ## possible levels: Emergency, Alert, Critical,
                   ## Error, Warning, Notice, Info, Debug

and change enabled: yes to enabled: no as shown:

# a line based alerts log similar to fast.log into syslog
  - syslog:
      enabled: no
      # reported identity to syslog. If omitted the program name (usually
      # suricata) will be used.
      identity: "suricata"
      facility: local5