Help how to debug stream drop invalid yes

Hi there,

I am relatively new to suricata (using it for a few weeks now, and I am pretty happy with it). I use Suricata as an IPS in KVM. My Host is using Openvswitch and I have two bridges ovs-host which contains the host-device as well as one device of the suricata vm and ovs-guests which contains the NICs of all guests as well as a NIC of the suricata vm. This VM then connects ovs-guest and ovs-host using af-packet (with eBPF lb). At first I had to use e1000 because I had trouble with VirtIO - I found a solution for that. Meanwhile I wrote a few tools which send all my fail2ban blocks to multiple Suricata’s which use iprep and drop accordingly. From what I can tell and see this setup works like a charm.

However. One of my VMs behind this suricata has wordpress and dokuwiki running. Both having trouble to connect back home - Wordpress displays it is unable to connect wordpress.org. Dokuwiki cannot reach their extensions/plugins. But everything I checked like wget, curl, dns… Works fine. Manually retrieving and accessing wordpress.org also works. The IPs are not dropped. In fact they are not even in fast.log. In eve.json I can see the dns requests to resolv and I can see that an answer is coming from wordpress.org but somehow then nothing happens.

The fix for all this was setting drop-invalid to no:

stream:
  memcap: 64mb
  memcap-policy: ignore
  drop-invalid: no
  checksum-validation: yes      # reject incorrect csums
  #midstream: false
  midstream-policy: ignore
  inline: auto                  # auto will use inline mode in IPS mode, yes or no set it statically
  reassembly:

As soon as I set this, everything works again. I tried to do some debugging, but all I found was this:

ips.drop_reason.flow_drop | Total | 837
ips.drop_reason.rules | Total | 3398
ips.drop_reason.stream_error | Total | 19347