Raspberry Pi with Suricata in IPS Mode [Help]

Hello guys, I am new to this community, and I hope that you guys can guide me. I am a final year student at my university and currently doing my project which involves Suricata.

My project’s setup is basically a Router that provides an Internet connection to Raspberry Pi through an eth0 port and I set up a wireless interface wlan0 in Raspberry Pi to become an access point for my home devices to connect to. Then I installed Suricata in Raspberry Pi hoping to become NIDPS so that the attack that I am gonna test, Suricata will be able to detect and drop it to protect the network behind Suricata. But it didn’t go well as planned

Suricata is able to drop and detect traffic that goes into Raspberry Pi which in my knowledge it is host-based IDPS but what I want is NIDPS where Suricata acts as a gateway. When I launched my attack, DoS and SQL Injection, Suricata are not able to detect or drop the traffic, the DoS managed to come to the victim connected to the wlan0 to the Raspberry Pi. I used Wireshark to check the traffic. I also use
“sudo tail -f /var/log/suricata/fast.log” to view an alert but nothing comes up.

Do note that my kali linux vm is also connected to the wlan0 of the raspberry pi as same as the victim.

At first, I thought my configuration was wrong so I tried to create a simple rule which is blocking access to Facebook which is below.

Suricata able to drop and detect the traffic when I tried to access facebook from victim pc.

I also tried inline mode, AF-PACKET IPS MODE as shown in the suricata.yaml tho I already commented it out but it is not working either. When using AF-PACKET IPS MODE, Suricata indicated that the traffic is dropped but when I see Wireshark, the traffic still came through. I also test this out with an SQL Injection attack, and it still working, no blocking occurs.