Running basic Suricata instance from CMD

Hi All,

I’m new to Suricata and trying to just run a basic instance of it. When I go to run the exe, right from the start I get the following:

Error opening file C:\Program Files\Suricata\log/suricata.log

Before going onto any warnings, when I go to check the file path, there is no suricata.log file. Is this file supposed to be created by default or does it get created when running suricata.exe for the first time? Am I missing something additional?

Thanks

Hi,

Did you compile it yourself or are you using the windows installer form here: Download - Suricata ?

usually

suricata -i {interface} -c suricata.yaml -v

would be enough.

Thank you

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the response. So I downloaded the installer, then I went to the folder path and did suricata.exe /?, I then ran the command it throws at the end to run with default configs. When I did that, the error above is what I got.

Thank you

Hi,

Can you please share a screenshot or the actual run and error ?
One more thing to check is what OS version you are running it with and is it with admin privileges ?

Hi Peter,

Ok I ran the command you specified as admin and it started!, so thank you there. Is there any kind of logging that I can reference and learn from as I am learning this tool?

The docs would be a good starting point (at the moment stable is 7.0.2):
https://docs.suricata.io/en/suricata-7.0.2/
In terms of logging :
https://docs.suricata.io/en/suricata-7.0.2/output/eve/eve-json-format.html
and
https://docs.suricata.io/en/suricata-7.0.2/output/eve/eve-json-output.html#eve-json-output

We are also working on additions to the documentation with basic concepts and use case examples, those will come soon too.

The user guide I have viewed before, though I thought it pertained mostly to Linux?, though I can take a closer look. The stuff on logging, I’ll do some reading there.

I thought you mentioned you needed to understand the logging part better, apologies.