Several questions on external rules

Hi all,
I’m new to Suricata (and IDS in general) and I just installed the version 6 on Ubuntu by the official PPA.

Before go deep to write my own rules, I would like to learn better how to integrate the available ones.

1. The first thing I did was to run the standard commands to update/listing rules and sources (suricata-update, update-sources and list-sources) and I found several sources/rules integrated in Suricata, but some of them request a subscription or are available for non-commercial use only.
    Where can I find other free sources to integrate in suricata?

2. I found this website: https://rules.emergingthreats.net/open/suricata-5.0/rules/ (it’s for Suricata 5 but it states Suricata 6 can use the same rules).
    I think it is the “official” Emerging Threats rule server but I’m pretty sure not every rule is included in my list source (using wc -l on suricata.rules I have only 23k lines when those files in total are over 63k lines).
    I tried to downloaded and include these rules on my suricata.yaml too, but some of them are duplicated.
    How can I check what is included and what is not?
    Is it safe to download and include them (these ones and in general other rules)?

3. (Maybe a stupid question) I know it depends from hardware and network traffic but how many rules can be loaded into Suricata before it becomes overwhelmed, 10K, 50K, 100K?
    I mean, can I include every rules without problem or is it better to have several Suricata instance and each one manage a specific group of rules?

Thanks,
Karim

The list-sources command will list the ones we know about and are in a format that works with Suricata-Update. You’d have to search to find others. Sometimes blogs/twitter post rules that are in GitHub repos and what not.