Strange behavior with pass and drop rule

Hi everyone,

I hope that I can provide sufficient information here, apologies in advance as I’m very new to Suricata. We are running 5.0.2 and have two rules.

1. pass tls any any <> any any
  2. drop tcp any any → any any (flow:established,to_server; sid: 100; rev:1;)

The strange behavior we are seeing is that after running a curl command, e.g. curl https://www.google.com, in the alert logs we are dropping TCP packets, even though the curl command completes and the flow logs show a complete flow.

Sorry the flow IDs are not the same, but there are cases where they are from the same flow, so please do not focus on that aspect.
Allowed:

{
    "firewall_name": "FW",
    "availability_zone": "us-east-1a",
    "event_timestamp": "1623779566",
    "event": {
        "timestamp": "2021-06-15T17:52:46.000070+0000",
        "flow_id": 1387274044176656,
        "event_type": "netflow",
        "src_ip": "10.0.0.78",
        "src_port": 41874,
        "dest_ip": "52.46.138.63",
        "dest_port": 443,
        "proto": "TCP",
        "app_proto": "tls",
        "netflow": {
            "pkts": 22,
            "bytes": 5207,
            "start": "2021-06-15T17:51:23.588048+0000",
            "end": "2021-06-15T17:51:43.624026+0000",
            "age": 20,
            "min_ttl": 254,
            "max_ttl": 254
        },
        "tcp": {
            "tcp_flags": "1f",
            "syn": true,
            "fin": true,
            "rst": true,
            "psh": true,
            "ack": true
        }
    }
}

{
    "event_timestamp": "1623779566",
        "timestamp": "2021-06-15T17:52:46.000155+0000",
        "flow_id": 1387274044176656,
        "event_type": "netflow",
        "src_ip": "52.46.138.63",
        "src_port": 443,
        "dest_ip": "10.0.0.78",
        "dest_port": 41874,
        "app_proto": "tls",
        "netflow": {
            "pkts": 24,
            "bytes": 7151,