Stream.fin_but_no_session anomaly

I’m running suricata 6.0.6 in-line with NFQ on ubuntu - I’ve been running this setup for about 3 years. The Ubuntu device is my router and does NAT, FW, and of course IPS. It’s not terribly taxed - maxes at 50% usage and memory ( small office setup).

I get an occasional websites on the LAN side that ‘hangs’ while browsing and my solution has been to address it in iptables before entering the NFQUEUE rule. I had some time to look into further and what I see are a bunch of anomaly packets that may be the cause.
This example is browsing the https://travel.state.gov from the .199 host

{“timestamp”:“2022-08-19T19:24:46.398097-0400”,“flow_id”:1352058313279682,“event_type”:“anomaly”,“src_ip”:“18.220.218.98”,“src_port”:443,“dest_ip”:“172.16.2.199”,“dest_port”:57914,“proto”:“TCP”,“anomaly”:{“type”:“stream”,“event”:“stream.fin_but_no_session”}}

Edit to Post: My working theory now is that the anomaly detection is what’s causing these packets in getting ‘lost’

Anybody have any thoughts or similar experiences as to what I should try/how to mitigate?

Can you share your suricata config file and how you run it?
And yes you might try running without the anomaly feature for some time to check if it’s the cause.

Yes, I have one line in my iptables after some housekeeping rules and blacklist blocks to send traffic to suricata

iptables -A FORWARD -m mark ! --mark 1/1 -j NFQUEUE

and using the attached config file - just minor tweaking from the default
suricata.yaml (72.2 KB)

Any thoughts are appreciated

And how do you start Suricata?
Can you also post the stats.log?
And try runs without anomaly enabled

Thank you, suricata is started at boot time, right after the iptables rules are setup ( in the same script tha builds the iptables rules)

----------
QUEUE=0
SURICATA=/usr/bin/suricata
SURICATACONFIG=/etc/suricata/suricata.yaml
SURICATA_PID_FILE=/var/run/suricata.pid

$SURICATA -c $SURICATACONFIG  -q $QUEUE -D --pidfile $SURICATA_PID_FILE