Suricata IPS installation

I’m new to Suricata and I really need help on installing and Configuring Suricata as IPS on Raspberry pi 4

Hi, @gbenga_awo !
Welcome to our forum. :slight_smile:
Could you please tell what have you tried and what exactly do you need help with?

Hi Shivani,

I have been able to install it as IDS but whenever I try installing IPS either I get a rust error version 1.48 error to upgrade in which I tried but have not been successful, dependency errors, suricata service not found and many more different attempts. I need a guide that will assist me in getting this resolved.
I’m running Suricata on Raspberry Pi 4 to prevent DOS attacks on IoT devices. this is for my academic project work. I really need help to archive this work.

I’ll wait to see if others know of something but unfortunately, I’m unaware of such guides for IPS. We should do better there indeed.
But, I suppose we could help you with things like suricata service not found and dependency errors. Could you please share the version of Suricata you’re trying to install and how did you install this? Which OS are you running?
And let’s tackle the issues one at a time.

thanks for your quick response. I’m running version 6.0.6 using the Suricata website installation documentation 6.0.0

First of all, 6.0.6 is rather old, 6.0.13 is out. You said IDS installation worked, but IPS did not. There is no big difference in the installation, except that you might want to include some other libraries like libnfqueue as dependency.

What are the actual steps that you did and what was the output that you received?

Thanks for your response. I will reinstall with 6.0.13 now and see how it goes. I will surely get soon. The major, I mostly is dependance to used. Usually tried different ones. could please direct to where to get dependence for suricata on raspberry pi.

The ./configure output will tell you which packages to install on Debian/Ubuntu which I assume is the base OS used on your Raspi.