Suricata IPS mode on bridged interface

Hi.

I have a Ubuntu 22.04 VM server where my VMs are all running on a bridged interface (br0).

Clients are all on the physical network.

I would like to set it up in IPS mode with Suricata running on the VM host.

Will that work?

thanks,
Geoff

How do you plan to forward the traffic from the clients?
If you achieve that it should be possible, you need to make sure that the traffic is forward to this VM and that this VM further forwards the traffic to the uplink and vice versa.

Right now all of the clients connect to the VMs over the bridge interface. There isn’t a VM sitting in between the client and server like a typical router. There is a bridge netfilter module that people use to do transparent firewalls. The trick is figuring out how to get inline. Routers are easy. I have never done any firewalls on a bridge before.

While likely technically possible, this turns out to be quite difficult, or at least I haven’t had much success.

The Suricata AF_PACKET IPS mode creates a dumb bridge. So with a single VM use case you would remove the Linux bridge, then use Suricata to create the bridge between the 2 interfaces. But virt-manager doesn’t understand this type of setup. However, I was able to coerce it by creating an isolated network and using Suricata to bridge a physical interface to vnet0. While simple pings were able to go through, not much else did. Packets were being corrupted somewhere. This has generally been my experience when virtualizing AF_PACKET IPS.